Had an Accident in New York? Here’s What you Should do

If you sustained a personal injury in New York, there is always a chance that you could be entitled to compensation. If the accident was caused by another person’s negligence, you might need to help of a lawyer. This is because the legal world is often hard to navigate, particularly for those who have no experience.

The good new is this article will help you to understand what you should do next and where you can get help.

Make a Note of Everything you Remember

After an accident, it is vital that you make a note of everything you remember. This includes:

  • What happened before the accident
  • During the accident
  • After the accident
  • What injuries you sustained
  • What the weather was like
  • If there was enough light
  • Whether there were warning signs around (If applicable)
  • Whether there were other people involved

The more you make a note of now, the better your chance of getting compensation. Chances are, you will forget a few minor details in the days and weeks after your accident. Make a note every time you remember something so you have more evidence for your attorney and your case.

Find an Attorney

If you have been involved in an accident you will need to hire a respected injury attorney. An attorney can help you with your case and fight in your corner. They can help you to navigate the world of personal injury law and ensure that you’re more likely to win your case.

When you’re hunting for an attorney, you need to make sure you hire one that has experience in personal injury law. The more experience they have, the better they will be at fighting your case. In addition to this, they’ll also know exactly how to negotiate your compensation.

Gather as Much Evidence as Possible

It’s vital that you gather as much evidence as possible. This is because if your personal injury case goes to court you can show that another party was negligent.

Get the contact details of any witnesses and take photographs of where you had your accident. This is so you can show your attorney whether there were adequate warning signs, if applicable.

You should also get copies of your medical bills. This is so your attorney can show the court the injuries that you sustained. This could help with your personal injury claim.

Know the Statute of Limitations

The statute of limitations offers a timeline in which you can make a personal injury claim. At the time of writing, the statute of limitations is 3 years. What this means is you have 3 years after the day of the accident to make your claim. While 3 years might seem like a long time, the sooner you start your claim, the better.

You should ideally start your claim no later than 2 years and 6 months after the date of your accident. This is so your attorney can have plenty of time to examine your case and fight in your corner. Remember, the clock starts ticking the moment you have your accident. Get your claim in as soon as you can so you don’t run out of time.

If you have been involved in an accident, you should get the help of an attorney before you consider making a claim. The world of personal injury law is a complicated one that can be harder to navigate than you think. With a little bit of help along the way, you could be closer to making a claim.

Cover Image Credits

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *